St Virgil’s Retain the Coyle – Clingeleffer Trophy

The Coyle – Clingeleffer Trophy was launched in 2012 for competition between St Virgil’s Grade 9 Cricket team and the St Parick’s College (Launceston ) equivalent. The Trophy was named in honour of former students, Tim Coyle (SPC) and Sean Clingeleffer (SVC 1993-96), the wicket keeper-batsman in Tassie’s inaugural Sheffield Shield winning team. After being a member of St Patricks College’s state title winning team in 1977, Tim Coyle was a consistent wicket-keeper who failed to cement a regular place in the side, although he did represent his home state seven times in the 1990/91 season. Following his retirement from playing, Coyle became a regional coach in his home town of Launceston before being appointed as Cricket Tasmania’s game development manager in 2000, a position he held for five years, before becoming senior coach for Tasmania. During his coaching reign, he successfully guided Tasmania to their first ever Sheffield Shield title, winning the competition in the 2006/07 season. Sean Clingeleffer attended St Virgil’s College from 1993-96, completing Year 11 and 12 at GYC. He had a very successful cricket career as evidenced by the following statistics:
  • Tasmanian Cricket Team as a wicket keeper-batsman                2000- 2007
–           74 First Class matches (10th on All Time Tasmanian list of most First Class matches), –           40 One Day Domestic Matches –           232 Dismissals (220 catches / 12 stumpings) –           2708 runs at an average of 26.54 –           Highest first class score 141 not out –           3 centuries and 13 half centuries
  • Member of Tasmanian Pura Cup/Sheffield Shield winning team 2006/07, scoring a magnificent 107 in the final.
  • Represented Australia – Prime Minister’s X1 – 2000, 01 and 2003.
  • Selected in Australian Cricket Board Assimilation Team touring India – 2001/02.
  • Nominated for Bradman Young Australian Cricketer of the Year  – 2003.
  • Australian Under 19 Team Captain                                            1997  – including 2 centuries
  • North Hobart Cricket Club 1st Grade Premiership player            2004/05 and   2005/06.
Sean was inducted onto the St Virgil’s College Heritage Roll in 2007. Sean holds a Bachelor of Business from RMIT (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology) and is a partnership with his brother Matt and Dale Kemp  in Harbour Financial Planning located in Bellerive.  Both Matt and Dale are former students of the College.  Matt (SVC 1987-92) and Dale (SVC 1975-79).  Both played cricket at a senior level with Clarence, both coached the senior side and Dale is the past President of the club. For the record St Virgil’s won the the Coyle Clingeleffer Trophy, defeating St Pat’s by 99 runs. St Virgil’s have won the trophy seven of the last eight years. Scores: SVC 9-223 off 50 overs defeated St Patrick’s College, Launceston 10-124. The picture below shows Sean presenting the trophy to St Virgil’s Captain, Will Sartori.

100 Years

Celebrating 100 Years in 2017


Old Virgilians Association Inc. 
PO Box 257, North Hobart, 7002, Tasmania


Message Us